When My Mind Returns

My soul has lain prisoner

In a cell filled with doubt

That I shall see daylight

Before time runs out

As awareness runs empty

I’ve wandered these walls

By clawing my senses

Far past the dense halls

Through patches of light

I can see through the grey

The apparition that visits

Chasing cobwebs away

As traces of green

Pass into my view

I faintly smell flowers

As memories of you

Are holding me gently

And touching my face

Assuring me teardrops

Will all be erased

When my mind returns

Fragments of you

And pieces of me

Fly into the blue

And into the green

The light fades away

And the wall’s closing in

Somewhere in the darkness

Inside of the din

I hear you sing softly

A song that I know

So tender and sweet

From so long ago

Crying and rocking

I’ve bloodied my fingers

By digging at walls

Where your shadows linger

I lie on my side

In a corner in shame

Counting the cost

And calling your name

Scratching out numbers

In chalk on the wall

The longer I count

The further I fall

 

Into madness

 

  ©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 29, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

