To See Your Face

I can’t bear to see your face

I don’t want you to look at me

Because I know I can’t erase

The fact that you and I can’t be

And I’m afraid you’ll see my tears

I’d always hoped you’d think me strong

No I don’t want these hidden fears

To ever show it would be wrong

So I’ll just sit in secrecy

In a small corner near the crowd

And I will dream that I could be

Your confidante were I allowed

It seems somewhere along the way

I let you down and you can’t see

I couldn’t find the words to say

How much your magic lifted me

It doesn’t matter anyhow

I was a stop within a night

I’m sure that you don’t need me now

To get you through and that’s alright

Your eyes don’t meet mine anymore

No you don’t ever look my way

I often wonder too if you’re

Struggling for the words to say

If you can’t bear to see my face

Or you don’t want to look at me

Because you know you can’t erase

The fact that you and I can’t be

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 13, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Eye ❤ Ewe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

