Impoverished Ecstasy

The setting sun follows high as you walk a trail of dust

Sing to me sweet vagabond place in me your trust

Swing and swirl as your hips curl around each narrow bend

And I shall follow you in hopes that this road never ends

O’ dark stranger dance for me as waves rise from the sand

Shake your hips as wild drums beat take me by the hand

You mesmerize with Turkish eyes as cymbals chinka-chink

I’m taken there inside your stare and know just what you think

Even though your mother tongue is foreign to my ears

I feel as though each song you sing I’ve understood for years

The more you sway the words you say become ingrained in me

And in your trance I’ll join the dance of impoverished ecstasy

©Kay Salady

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 25, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

