Neglected

Sensuous Photo by Zhang Jingna

I had decided you’d remember

My special touch along your skin

Not even once did I consider

That you’d forget – but then again

I’d neglected to persuade you

No other love could fill my space

I didn’t reinforce the issue

You found me easy to replace

By slipping her inside the covers

Her head lies easy on your chest

She now listens to the heartbeat

Of the man that I know best

I sit alone and I remember

The special moments that we shared

And I wonder if you miss me

Or realize how much I care

Does she love you as completely

Or as deeply as I do

Is she just a sweet distraction

To ease the pain you’re going through

I took for granted you’d remember

The way it felt inside my love

But somehow dear you have forgotten

Or perhaps I am unworthy of

The whispered vow to be together

And hold each other ‘til the end

It was decided that forever

We would be lovers my best friend

Who do I turn to with my longing

Where do I run in my despair

I am so empty I’m so hollow

I call your name and you’re not there

I had decided you’d remember

My special touch along your skin

Not even once did I consider

That you’d forget – but then again

©Kay Salady

 

Narration:  http://soundcloud.com/kay-salady/neglected

Image Credit:  Redemption by http://luxlife.in/sensuous-photo-by-zhang-jingna/

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 16, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

