Gone to Pray

I think you have gone to pray

Where is your god?

I can’t seem to find him

He has abandoned me

And I am lost in my sorrow

Weeping in this endless sea of tears

Salty pain falls like rain

Drowning me in thoughts of you

And I don’t know what I should do

To bring you back again

It seems I’ve lost my way

And I can’t find your door

All these footsteps take me to

The endless sea of sorrow

Your eyes are in the clouds

Flashing bright they blind my eyes

And cause my mind to see

All the memories

And dreams of what could be

Thoughts of you

Lead me to

The hand I held the one I knew

Kissing the center of my soul

Only you can remedy

This aching need inside of me

Your sweet love could possibly

Return and make me whole

As you pray face the day

Upon your knees in your sweet way

Whisper prayers for our love

To be returned

Oh my sweet love

Think of me

In your way

If possibly

You find the room

For thoughts of me

To return

To yesterday

Refresh this spring

Refresh the love

Refresh the thought of what could be

For I know deep inside of you

Dwells the heart of me

©Kay Salady

 

“For what do you know, woman, if you will save your husband, or you, man, if you will save your wife?” -1 Corinthians 7:16, Aramaic Bible in Plain English

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 20, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

