Somewhere in the Darkness

I held you for an instant

Your warmth infused my soul

With passion like I’d never known

You were so beautiful

I sat in trepidation

And let you slip away

Before I had occasion

To find the words to say

How deeply you had touched me

Changing me forever

And now I can’t imagine

A day without you ever

I promise I will find you

Somewhere beyond the stars

That I am wishing on

Beyond these endless hours

For deep within my being

You’ve found a place to rest

You’re running through my mind

And at the center of my chest

I held you for an instant

Oh what a meager taste

Of never-ending longing

Such an awful waste

Return to me my darling

Come fill this empty bed

Bring to me your roses

Lay petals ‘round my head

Pervade my lips with honey

Lips-to-lips we’ll dine

Bring berries from your vineyard

We’ll make the sweetest wine

Dew drops from my garden

Run along my skin

At the thought of you and I

Entwined without within

My restlessness grows stronger

Can’t you hear my call

Somewhere in the darkness

As nighttime’s shadows fall

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 22, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

