At the Waterfront — 100-word story

 

We lay on a hill in the coolness of summer’s green, as the darkened sky expanded to embrace an explosion of color, along with the acrid smell of smoke.  I hid my eyes in the comfort of my Daddy’s embrace, fearing the fire would burn me, along with the ducks out on the lake. What if the fire in the sky should fall to earth? Since that evening at Silver Park, I’ve been watching the sky. I often wonder if it will fall, as I did as a child. The thing is; Daddy’s no longer here to keep me safe.

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

Image Credit:  http://www.starkbargains.net/2012/07/01/stark-county-ohio-4th-of-july-fireworks-2012/

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 13, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The memories you shared with your father, will forever remain in your heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

