Only in My Memories

I sit and pick at fragments

The Sandman left behind

Then tug away at blankets

That trap my feet inside

The bed that leaves me weary

Although I’ve slept straight through

Another empty night

I should have spent with you

I look up at the shadows

That drift along my wall

Imagining you’re walking

With coffee down the hall

I smell its sweet aroma

With you inside my mind

Imagination’s wonderful

Yet awfully unkind

I rise to greet my image

And the lines that paint my face

Leave such a sense of vacancy

It’s a damn disgrace

I know I cannot touch you

Or smell your perfumed hair

I’ll never hear you whisper

All the secrets that we’ve shared

Only in my memories

Are you a part of me

But sometimes when I think of you

I swear that I can see

A hint of your sweet smile

And the scent of your cologne

But then those visions vanish

And I find that I’m alone

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 22, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. love the picture too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

