Gathering Dust

Gathering Dust

 

Peace floats in the stillness

As dust collects the light

Flowing through the window pane

At the edge of night

Before the sun had time to sink

Completely in the sky

And just in time for me to realize

All the reasons why

I can take a breath again

Without the inner fear

That I may not be good enough

Or you might disappear

Now I can take this moment

Just to live my life in peace

Inhaling my own breath of air

Is such a sweet release

I can’t define the way I feel

For you would think me mad

And if I think for very long

I’d feel so goddamn bad

That I would cry the tears I’ve wasted

Once again on you

Crying is just not for me –

No crying will not do

I won’t waste my precious time

On any other lover

I’ve locked my heart up good and tight

I won’t share it with another

So I’ll just hide myself away

To gather bits of dust

And peace will come when light shines through

These window panes of rust

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

