Shame on Me

Shame on Me

Shame on me

For letting you in

For accepting your touch

And committing the sin

Of baring my soul

And awakening thoughts

That I had suppressed

At such a high cost

Shame on you

For your lack of restraint

It’s easy to see

That you are no saint

But had I known

That you were with her

I’d have not played the fool

Or allowed feelings to stir

The way that it felt

Inside of the night

Was warm like rain

Receptive and right

I didn’t know

That I was in danger

Of losing a lover

And becoming a stranger

It felt so good

Between you and me

It’s a shame love is blind

And I didn’t see

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 24, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ganesangopalan

    Accepted the Truth

    Like

Leave a Reply

