What’s inside a Man?

What's Inside a Man

He drove me around for hours until I drifted off to sleep
Then carried me upstairs and prayed my soul to keep
In the Sunday morning light, I watched him as he shaved
And later on that day, as he knelt down to pray
I stood upon his shoes and balanced there awhile
On rainy afternoons, we’d polka dance and smile
He’d kiss my tiny feet and sing me Spanish Eyes
And tell me that we’d meet someday in Paradise
He ran away with her; he let my Mama go
He said goodbye to me and I will never know
What’s inside a man that makes him let go of
The world within his hands the people that he loves
And what makes him so sure that he will ever see
Redemption for his sins if one day he should see
That all the while the things in life he thought he’d missed
He’d let slip through his hands and cross off of his list
Thank God the man had prayed and had the faith to see
That miracles exist – God brought him back to me

My Daddy, my first love
A gentleman who cried
Cuff links at his wrists
So smooth and so refined
Tie clips and cologne
Brylcreem in his hair
Bow tie at his chin
Dark and debonair
I could see the strength
Within his spearmint smile
If only he’d come back
And hold me there awhile

What’s inside a man
That takes your breath away
That makes him your first love
Until this very day
You fancy other men
To fit inside the mold
Like that of your first love
The one who’d always hold
Your hand when you would cry
Who’d kiss away your tears
Chase gray clouds from the sky
And love you through the years

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 3, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Terrific

    Like

Leave a Reply

