Crystal Charms

 

Crystal Charms

Merely candy on your arm
And a name that you’ll forget
Another teardrop charm
That you hadn’t purchased yet
The stars inside my eyes
That you’d strung wide and high
Made it hard to recognize
The smoke that made me cry
You string along your arm
Names that you forget
All those countless charms
Handfuls of regret
Wandering deaf and dumb
As I stand high and dry
Facing toward the sun
Counting reasons why
Crystals catch the rays
Aiming for my heart
Shards of brittle pain
Tearing me apart
I press them in my hands
To make me feel alive
I met with your demands
So I could survive
Those handfuls of regret
Wandering deaf and dumb
No, never purchased yet
Alone and feeling numb

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 7, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That is a beautiful image and terrific poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

