Sentinel

Sentinel

 

Keeper Angel, come take me home

To He who waits when life is done

Out where the pure white horses run

So far beyond life’s setting sun

For in my heart, I long to be

Beside the One who waits for me

Where shining seraphs praise His name

Forevermore, they will proclaim

His majesty

 

So well aware that she would come

Inside my room, to take me home

With scent of rose, as sleep draws near

In crimson robe, she doth appear

With urgency, to take my breath

O’ long-awaited kiss of death!

 

Clutched in her arms, I shall ascend

As Keeper Angels catch the wind

On sacred wings of down, they fly

Up through a misty golden sky

Beyond the eastern horizon

We soar above the rising sun

Toward a land fairer than day

Aside the Master’s feet I lay

He touched the filthy outer hem

Of robes of scarlet, filled with sin

And made them whiter than the snow

Then gave me liberty to go

To look upon the ones who wait

For me to open up the gates

That lead to places yet unseen

Much farther than my wildest dreams

Where steeds of white go galloping

Upon their backs, humanity

Adorned in gowns so clean and bright

Are led to a great dazzling light

There, seraphs stand behind His throne

With praise for Him, and Him alone

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 14, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful

    Like

Leave a Reply

