Like So Much Rain

All my days

Run into each other

Like so much rain

How can I distinguish

One from another

Sunday through Monday

Collect such pain

Having no specialty

Outside of this bed

Where I search for rainbows

Inside of my head

Floating in pools of ink

Oblivious that I may sink

Into delirium

I scream but there is no sound

Because nobody’s around

To hear me

I lie inside of my filth

Naked without any guilt

Watching the spider lings crawl

Up these abominable walls

That are getting much closer each day

Boxing me into their clay

Shaping and molding

Pressing and folding

Until I conform

Run the wheel

Face the norm

This is all that there is

For as long as I live

No garden of green

No king for the queen

It was just as I dread

It was all in my head

Floating in stink

Inside bottles of ink

Somewhere near my crown

And a torn wedding gown

Oh I scream – there’s no sound

Because no one’s around

To hear

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on April 13, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

