Spitting Poison

Spitting Poison

Slight lips seethe rancid spittle

Spewing forth toxicity

Into my peaceful atmosphere

And I squirm to move away from her

As we piss away the hours

I think of art and poetry

I think of all the damage done to me

As I listen to her rage

On a solitary page of pain

And it’s driving me insane to stay

It’s nearly three a.m.

And she’s reeled me in again

With that rusty hook of pity

She’d been dropping in her line

And I’m the sap who took the time

To listen to her whine

I try to hang the line

She screams a bit more time

I lie and say it’s fine

It never is

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

 

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 15, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Shukriya

    Like

  2. andersphansen

    Wonderful poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

