King of Golden Fields

King of Golden Fields

I wove a chain of buttercups

And placed them ‘round your head

You kissed me in a golden field

Where dandelions spread

Wings to meet the summer breeze

That blew your auburn hair

I wove a chain of buttercups

And asked you if you dare

Kiss me in this golden field

Where dandelions are spread

Soft upon the splendid grass

To fashion an excellent bed

I gathered you some dandelions

To show my faithfulness

And knelt to place them at your feet

Because I loved you best

I kissed the freckled forehead

Where a wreath of flowers lay

To crown you king of golden fields

Where lads and lasses play

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 22, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. andersphansen

    Beautiful poem.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful poem.

    Like

  3. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

