Coronas with Lemon

Coronas with Lemon

 

 

Why hide your face

Not everyone is beautiful

But that doesn’t necessarily mean

That I don’t find you appealing

The way you avert your stare

To the intimate place right there

Rather than meeting my gaze

And oh those summer days

At your sister’s kitchen table

Drinking ice cold beer

As I slowly squeezed lemon juice

Right here

And poured a tiny mound of salt

No it wasn’t your fault

That it rained upon the hills

And valleys of your desire

I gazed as they admired

The voracity

With which you devoured me

Unafraid that they would see

Your eyes your hands your mouth on me

I looked at her and I could see

The sheer contempt and jealousy

That the object of your lust was me

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 10, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

