Clinging Vine

Clinging Vine

“I awoke tonight at the same hour

that same old tree still in my mind”

And upon that tree, a clinging vine

Wrapped herself from root to limb

Surrounding every inch of him

Depriving every branch that grew

The slightest hint of green he knew

Such a lovely sight to spy

In the eyes of passers by

To see the ivy-covered tree

Glittering in the summer breeze

Yet for a lover who awaits

Beneath its bough to congregate

In the hollow of his arms

To enjoy sweet Luna’s charms

It is such a tragedy

For the moonlit path had been erased

Ivy came along to chase

The beams from heaven’s door

That I not dance there anymore

Nor lend remembrance to the day

You held me in the way that lovers do

The very thought of loving you

Is but a dream that won’t come true

I cannot say this tree is mine

It now belongs to a clinging vine

And I can’t meet you ‘neath its bough

Because she lives in that tree now

Making it her own – making it her home

With all the music that I left behind

She sways and bends and sets her mind

To dance with you awhile

 ©Kay Salady

https://soundcloud.com/#kay-salady/clinging-vine

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 24, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for reading my work, SJK Photo! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

