Pieces of Silver

Pieces of Silver

So long is this journey in waiting
For someone who slips through my mind
In the glittering sands of your desert
An oasis appears far behind
As I glance over my shoulder
I can see the days of my youth
That you scrape away from my bones
Exposing what I now know as truth
You no longer see me as lovely
My appeal disappears down the drain
You sell me for pieces of silver
What right have I now to complain
I dwell inside of a shadow
That is foreign and chills to the core
Still walking the sands of a desert
Just as vacant as the desert before
O’ serpent your eyes are beguiling
As you slither away from my head
Where you wrap yourself ‘round my mind
And feed upon each word I’ve said
Consuming me oh so completely
Until nothing is left of my soul
Soon you’ll return to devour
As you open to swallow me whole
So long is this journey in waiting
For somebody oh so unkind
Though you sell me for pieces of silver
You continuously coil up and wind
Around and around in my mind

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 8, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. andersphansen

    Beautiful poem.

    Like

  2. An emotionally charged descriptive write …. I could feel it.
    Well written ….

    Like

Leave a Reply

