Intuition

Author, Kay Salady

Author, Kay Salady

 

The taste upon my tongue

The scent within the air

These bumps upon my skin

That make me well aware

Of the impending danger

That lurks around each bend

Is always here within me

As a never-ending friend

Do I pay attention to you

When the flavor is not good

And the smell is somewhat bad

Do I listen as I should

Or do I chew and swallow

The poison I’ve been fed

And though I fear to follow

Do I travel where I’m led

Although I know I’ll fall

And I am sure to fail

I close my eyes in anguish

And moan a loathsome wail

For I have grown immune

To your incessant plea

Now all that is familiar

And foreign outside me

Is a problematic puzzle

With pieces I can’t fit

These days for my protection

I must rely on wit

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 24, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. andersphansen

    Great poem, dear

    Like

Leave a Reply

