I’m So Sad

I'm So Sad

It seems you punish me

For all the things that she
Did to you so carelessly
In the past

Why don’t you take the time
To stop and realize
That I’m the one who cries
While you’re so bad

It wasn’t me who hurt you
And it wasn’t me who lied
I would not desert you
I have an alibi
I’m just so sad

We try to talk it over
And try to work it through
But it seems that you’re not over
You know who

I sleep right in the middle
And toss all through the night
Trying to contend with
Your pillow fight

Now that I’ve discovered
What’s inside your head
The one you should be over
Is still sleeping in our bed

You can have the mattress
And you can keep the sheets
I’m happy to let go of
What makes you so complete

Lie there with your memories
They’re good enough for you
Having me beside you
Just didn’t seem to do

It wasn’t me who hurt you
And it wasn’t me who lied
When I said I won’t desert you
I had an alibi
I’m just so sad

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 25, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. andersphansen

    Beautiful and melancholy

    Like

  2. keep working things out, girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

