Memories for Friends

In your attempt to reconcile

The years you took away

You offer your condolences

Then search for things to say

That will appease the present

Tears that stain my face

However fine the offer

You cannot replace the time

 

I gaze at you intently

And sometimes find remains

Of bittersweet remembrance

Before you caused the pain

That drowned my life in sorrow

For my belief in you

Was deep and everlasting

Now that idea won’t do

 

I held onto the anger

To give me strength to cope

You stole away my confidence

And stripped me of my hope

All of the precious beauty

The Lord bestowed on me

Was wasted on a man

Whose eyes refused to see

 

I never knew true love

Or what it meant to touch

The heart of love’s return

And I needed it so much

The bottomless desire

Hidden in my soul

Was buried with the youth

So selfishly you stole

 

Now I am left alone

With memories for friends

We ponder all the choices

That seem to never end

I felt that I was cornered

With no other road to take

I took the busy avenue

That was my mistake

 

With age they say comes wisdom

You never were my friend

A rendezvous that came to view

A song that never ends

A taste upon my tongue

The bitter sour and sweet

In your attempt to reconcile

Your own less traveled street

 

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 31, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Beautiful

    Like

  2. This beautiful Kay Salady

    Like

  3. Touching and beautiful,
    yet sad…

    Like

Leave a Reply

