Like Alchemy

 

Like Alchemy

“When the sweet glance of my true love caught my eyes,
Like alchemy, it transformed my copper-like soul.
I searched for Him with a thousand hands,
He stretched out His arms and clutched my feet.”

-Rumi from Thief of Sleep
by Shahram Shiva

Transfixed by his endearing eyes gazing into mine
The chemistry transformed my soul to something so divine
He longed to meet the radiant heat my body had produced
That his Elixir of Enchantment succeeded to induce
My frantic spirit searched for him five hundred times or more
With a thousand hands that came up empty as the time before
Through fevered brow I tossed and turned calling out his name
As visions of his countenance left as soon they came
My anguished mind began to go to places on the edge
Where spiders creep and ladies leap from sanity’s dark ledge
Rusty blades cut sweet flesh as bitten lips did bleed
All the pain and anguish of a lover’s deepest need
And as I searched inside my chest to stop the heart that beat
He reached for me stretched out his arms and clutched my tiny feet

©Kay Salady Poetry

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 16, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very romantic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

