A Twisted Rope

A Twisted Rope

You promised love forevermore
To follow me past heaven’s door
Then reunite aside the shore
Of our castle by the sea

My heart was broken in one day
This scar will never fade away
You had nothing left to say
As you walked away from me

I’m so lost inside my mind
Frozen in a space in time
I truly thought that you were mine
Beneath a lover’s tree

The bitter truth is agony –
A twisted rope no one can see
Each day it chokes the life from me
Then leaves my soul to weep

A lover’s dream was wiped away
My love, my life, my yesterday
Now the morrow’s hope has died
We shall not meet in paradise

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on August 24, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

