Same Old Sea

Same Old Sea

It’s beyond me
And such a tragedy
That you choose to throw yourself
Into that same old sea
That rises up to swallow
All your hopes and dreams
Of ever fixing your mistakes
Or healing used to be’s
I know that I had told you
That I needed you around
Far more than just an errand boy
I thought that you had found
The gift of my forgiveness
Despite the things I say
With all my heart I really care
So please don’t sail away
Within a drunken stupor
Self-medicating pain
Each time you wake
I fear you’ll take
Far more than you’ll sustain
The heart won’t go on beating
Within your gentle chest
I know you’ll bleed
And you’ll succeed
To lay your soul to rest
But how am I to swallow
The drops of pain you leave
Without an opportunity
To know for whom I grieve

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 5, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Melancholy

    Like

Leave a Reply

