Serrations *may trigger

My world starts to shrink

As I sail out to sea

Safety is drifting away from me

I’m drowning in sorrow

And writhing in pain

As I struggle to keep

From cutting again

Rust fills my mouth

Familiar and warm

Trying to keep

From doing much harm

Small indentations

Seep away stains

Painted in sin

I rid them in vain

Over and over

I try to attack

Years of regret

Remorse for the lack

That flows like a river

Deep to the core

A curse on my being

The ultimate score

I pay with my blood

I’ve paid with my mind

I lay in white dressing

That drips as they bind

Me up in a jacket

Alone in a room

Drifting in darkness

I float to the moon

©Kay Salady

Image Credit: http://rebloggy.com/post/blood-black-and-white-sad-suicide-my-work-self-harm-self-hate-cut-cutting-scars/43796012278

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on October 4, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

