The Man Who Made Honey

The Man Who Made Honey

 

Processions of memories march through my mind

Cornering the consequence I wished to find

Lashing my hopes and leaving at bay

All of the virtue I had struggled to stay

I caught a glimpse with peripheral vision

Terror and nausea made swift collision

Swirling and whirling I tumbled around

Damning your name deep into the ground

I paced with intent to remain on my feet

You then sent your soldiers to march to the beat

Of proverbial drums so hollow – I flew

And rallied along to pay homage to you

To the current that flows deep down in my veins

For you are the beat in my chest that remains

This symbol of love that was torn on the day

The man who made honey took sweetness away

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on October 6, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

