Finale

 

Finale 

This is your finale

I won’t be back – no more

There isn’t any reason

For reasoning – what for

Words mean nothing to me

And your promise is no good

I won’t play second fiddle

Can you tell me why I should

Why should I

Bow down in submission

To a heart as cold as stone

I’ve come to say please go away

I’d rather be alone

Than to feel the kind of empty

That I feel when I’m with you

I’m all used up and so fed up

With wasting years for two

When you were never here

As I stood so all alone

Waiting for the moment

When we could start a home

But that moment never came

Now my arms are filled with dust

These eyes have cried such tears

For the dreams that turned to rust

I watch you walk away

As if I never mattered

I was just a stepping stone

And my memory is shattered

This is my finale

It is time to take a bow

Time to face the reality

That it’s really over now

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 9, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Poignant words with so much intensity describing an ending with painful heartbreak. The words resonate the
    feelings my daughter is going through at the moment. I will let her read it. Thanks for posting.
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.com/2013/11/06/scuff-no-more/

    Like

  2. Wonderful poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

