Concrete Sea

“It’s often difficult for me to decipher whether the problems lie within me or around me.  I’m lost in a maze being chased by my own demons  . . . or did you send them?”

 Concrete Sea

 

I have fallen down so far that I cannot find the sky

There’s a concrete sea extending miles ahead of me

And a haze rises from the memories inside my mind

Why was I so blind that I couldn’t see my own reality

Now it’s far too late for me and all that we could be

Has slowly seeped into the barren cracks along the way

If I could only hit replay and yesterday would come again

Owe it to the wind – not much of a friend

Pushing me with pins as each gust comes to bend

Forcing me to swallow gulps of pain

I’m so hollow

Dripping from the holes it bore all over me

Washing out to sea along with all this rain

Falling in sad refrain with my poor heart

Bleeding as I do with loneliness, it’s true

I’m cut so deeply that I feel I’ll fall apart

How can I go on another year living with the fear

That I may never find my way again to you

 

©Kay Salady

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 18, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. It’s funny sometimes, how when I read your poems..it’s like you are seeing everything that is going on inside my heart. I read a lot of poetry…but by far..you are my favorite poet. Wishing you the best this Holiday Season. 🙂

    Like

    • It means a great deal to me to know that, Lori. The main reason I share my poetry is in an attempt to allow others to feel they are never alone. I wish you all good things,
      especially the rainbow that comes after the rain. God bless you. 🙂

      Like

  2. Absolutely terrific poem

    Like

Leave a Reply

