Eloquence

Eloquence

“When two are not as one, there are only words to express the heart’s deepest feelings.”

With eloquence, I form each word

From pages wrought with dew

As I pour out with parted lips

The love I have for you

I with my embellishments

Met you beneath the bough

Reciting every earnest prayer

This simple heart endows

I’d chosen one that caught my eye

From all I thought would please

And held that morsel up so high

From there on bended knee

What had I to offer to

A love I can’t resist

And how, pray tell, could I convey

With humble tenderness

The height or depth, the farthest leap

Across this lowly plain

That I, alone, do offer to

My sky, my great domain

As I look up with eyes of love

From pages worn with age

Reaching forth to realms above

When I, this modest sage

Can merely pen belief in you

My aim seems much too high

I’d set my heart upon each page

And paint words in the sky

If only you were near to me

For now, I praise the view

Of shining eyes that capture me

Beneath a sky of blue

Living with the choice I’ve made

To sit aside and weep

With eloquence, I form each word

Each night, before I sleep

 

©Kay Salady

 

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 19, 2013, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Beautiful poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

