Beyond the Force of Fear

Beyond the Force of Fear

Beyond the force of fear I fear

That overtakes my breath

There stands a might far greater

Than my impending death

A chance to dwell in agony

A senseless ceaseless stay

Martyred for forbearance

As I while the hours away

Folding pallid arms

Tightly to my chest

Attempting to betray

This painful hollowness

Rocking to the rhythm

Of the beat inside my head

All the while considering

How to end the dread

Or focus my attention

But I’m a spinning wheel

Imploding and exploding

On an uneven keel

Finding myself fetal

A roly-poly bug

My armor incidental

Convex upon the rug

Screaming for compassion

Crying out for hope

Someone flip me over

So the other half can cope

The clock has hands of iron

As a pendulum they sway

Counting very slowly

My senseless ceaseless stay

Beyond the force of fear I fear

That overtakes my breath

There stands a might far greater

Than my impending death

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 1, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Beautiful

    Like

Leave a Reply

