I Saw the Evening Star

eveningstar

Tonight, I saw the evening star
Sail in the velvet sky
So brightly, in an endless sea
Of diamonds way up high
A ray of hope above the hills
Beyond the frosted plains
Upon this eve so cool and clear
A whispered wish again
Is sent with deepest longing
A heart tossed to the wind
Torn from a sleeve of sorrow
I trust that it will mend
This fool who tightly clung to hope
Who begged her not to leave
Before I had the chance to say
Dear Venus, I believe
Perhaps you are a star that’s died
A million years ago
Yet I have faith you can defy
The love I can’t let go
For I can see you shining
So real, as real can be
Drifting in your magic bliss
Upon a diamond sea
My lover’s eyes are sparkling
Inside the darkened mist
Surrounding me with ecstasy
As I gaze up and wish
For my true love to overcome
The fear inside his soul
To realize the value of
A love so beautiful
I hurled my heart into the wind
The pieces flew away
Cast into the sparkling light
Onto this humble clay
Cast into the sparkling light
The pieces flew away

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 4, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Truly wonderful poem

    Like

Leave a Reply

