As I Await

Alone in This Bed by Sirens of Rose ©2009-2014 DeviantArt.com

My undisclosed hunger grumbles

Beneath a visage of contentment

As I await trinkets of gold

And finely penned letters of intention

Neatly tucked inside small boxes

Bound with sparkling silver twine

Aside quaint crimson and floral creations

Thoughtfully selected just for me

But then inside my secrecy

I must confess that there will be

No valentines of pink and red

Scattered here upon my bed

No not this year

For he’s not here

No Casanova rules my heart

No Romeo to play the part

Nor king

No friend to have a cup of tea

I am alone

Oh woe is me!

What will I do?

Pour myself a glass of wine

Purchase my own valentine

And lovely chocolates from the store

Pick my own roses

And what’s more

Pen a letter of intention

That I shall never ever mention

Him

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 13, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

