Forbidden Land

Forbidden Land

 

I, in all my weakness

You, with all your strength

I cried for your attention

I plead for you at length

I wept for you, my brother

My bitter tears unceasing

Yet all the supplications

That I had been releasing

Drifted out your ears

And never met your heart

For I have been unworthy

To play a meager part

In the drama of your life

Oh, such a busy play

It seems your puppet master

Pulls at strings all day

Confining you to corners

Selected for the few

And there is no admittance

For those who just won’t do

It seems that you forget

The days when I was there

Now, I sit in your neglect

Knowing you don’t care

My days upon this earth

Are numbered, so it seems

And when the few arrive

To bid me company

I’m sure that I won’t know you

If you should somehow stand

There, upon my grave

For it is forbidden land

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 8, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Melancholy

    Like

Leave a Reply

