Darkness

 

Darkness

Darkness, hollow darkness, is snuffing out the light
Extinguishing my comfort and replacing it with fright
I kneel down on trembling knees in an attempt to pray
Leaning on the light in me to chase the dark away
Then peace flies out the windows, just beyond the rafters
The dark-winged bird confuses every single word I’m after
Reminding me there’ll never be a hint of light to see
Inside this blackened maze, what hand is touching me

Darkness, hollow darkness, envelops me with fright
As fingertips, so lightly, crawl upon my skin tonight
Breath, as cold as ice, breathes ever slightly on my skin
Then leaves a scent of roses in the darkness I am in
I know there are no angels in this place that I do dwell
For there is no comfort in the sweltering pits of hell
The dark-winged bird is mocking every single word I say
Yet I foretell he shall be burned within the light of day

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 9, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A lovely sad poem. Not typical for coming spring, I like this very much.

    Like

  2. Melancholy

    Like

Leave a Reply

