Reckon the Miles

Reckon the Miles

 

Do not dismay eternal darkness

Hold your breath and close your eyes

Reckon the miles before the river

The shepherd’s flock met their demise

You and I must fear no evil

His rod and staff are sure to bend

The sand that sweeps each barren grave

Where hope is veiled within the wind

He weeps for souls who disobey

Blinded eyes can’t understand

In their monochrome of sleep

So neatly sealed by ashen hands

In the fissure of their keep

The old deceiver’s fingertips

Bid a paltry aim to pardon

As he purses pallid lips

Pointing out each ewe and ram

Scrutinizing the master’s sheep

One by one and two by two

Filing blindly toward the heap

Thunder rolls the clouds imbue

The rock is hidden by the shade

Near the valley of the dead

So stoically they promenade

Those hollow halls that echo dread

Infusing pungent smells of death

Their temple falls the curtains shred

As he draws his final breath

Restore my soul with living water

Anoint my head I do implore

Guide me to the verdant valley

And feed me ‘til I want no more

Fill my cup to overflowing

Please comfort me along my way

Strike the stone and split the darkness

Purge the lamb that went astray

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on April 22, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Utterly sweet

    Like

  2. Beautiful poem.

    Like

  3. Thank you very much, Anders and Greg. I appreciate your having read my work. God bless you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

