Drums of Thunder

Image

Gray billows sweep the night as one shining eye peers through a parted lid of ebony.

A great raven soars across the moon, shadowing the glow with a formidable stain.

She rises, lifting her wings, as if preparing to plummet from her great abode, only to dissipate from black to gray.

God’s finger stirs the sky; yet brings no rain, only a sea of rolling mist.  

All I see is the smoke from embers rising up from the earth’s majesty of green, and I weep for her loss.

I wonder, if somewhere upon a hill, the grandfather dances for rain.  And, if I try, can I replicate the dance.

Can I dance?  Can I dance with fervor! 

Can my sad heart express the longing that I feel . . .  to open the great sky wide enough to play his drums of thunder.

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. andersphansen

    wow that is beautiful

    Like

  2. Thank you Anders. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

