Haphazard Innuendo

 

Haphazard Innuendo

I’m so jaded

Lost in this expanse

Like dust, I rise

Performing a figurative dance

Of haphazard innuendo

Upon a ballroom floor

Swirling to the music

In an old, white pinafore

I cannot speak the soreness

That quakes within my soul

I’ll never know the pleasure

Of the half that makes me whole

My mind made off with a flurry

The chalk line failed to quell

A blackbird’s eye still sits up high

Magpie has refused to tell

Why she’s so jaded

Bitten ‘neath her skirts

Her tiny hands made great demands

Inside the rogue’s blue shirt

She met denial

With all its throbbing scorn

Pounding out the perjury

Upon the lone and forlorn

Tearing at her tresses

Given to grind her teeth

Searching for the logic

That lies somewhere beneath

The layers of fallen leaves

That fell while she had danced

She somehow missed her mark

And tiptoed past the chance

To be sufficient

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 22, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. andersphansen

    Beautiful and well-written

    Like

  2. Thank you very much, Anders!

    Like

Leave a Reply

