Beloved

 

Beloved
O’ where are you, beloved
I am aching in my soul
A chill has set within me
As deep and dark as coal
No hand can lend me comfort
Nor arms could ease this pain
I long to see my lover
To touch his face again
If for some fleeting moments
That this self-seeking heart
Might shatter every second
Tearing them apart
Splitting all the fragments
Within this star struck mind
Wrapping each so tenderly
Tucking them behind
A treasure trove of memory
Sacred and secure
Where I’d impart a loving heart
To always remain pure
O’ where are you, beloved
Mere words cannot convey
The remorse I feel, my darling
For having gone away

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 26, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Melancholy and beautiful

    Like

  2. What a great poem. Captures the emotion we all can relate to.

    Like

  3. Thank you dear Anders!

    Like

  4. Thank you very much for the compliment, Greg!

    Like

Leave a Reply

