Imprisoned by the Silence

Waiting_for_love_by_Heardwitheyes

Imprisoned by the silence
Of every unheard prayer
Scrawled in vain along each wall
That echoes no one’s there
To fall upon the stillness
Where footsteps fear to tread
No departure from this emptiness
That pulses in my head
No kiss for lips once sweetened
By love’s pristine embrace
Discolored by the venom
Of waiting for a trace
Of warmth for empty arms
That ache for just one touch
Cold within the darkness
Wanting for so much
Inside a heart that’s breaking
I feel that I shall die
To live for one more hour
Without you by my side
I whisper to the moon
And wonder if you hear
My earnest plea each reverie
They seem so crystal clear
Are you there my darling
Looking at her too
Can you feel my heart
So filled with love for you
Each day my strength grows weaker
And hope seems out of sight
Imprisoned by the silence
Of each cold and lonely night

©Kay Salady

Image credit:  Waiting for love by Heardwitheyes deviantart.com

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 2, 2014, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful and melancholy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

