Cupid

Cupid

Shy away from bow and arrow
Be not so bold to draw nor aim
For blinding love hit to the marrow
Dare not to grace this heart again
Do not beat your glistening wings
Above this woman’s empty bed
And do not pull at silver strings
That tied two hearts who once were wed
So long ago, my soul did quake
From a spear that pierced the clouds
Oh, how my trembling heart did ache
When my love broke his solemn vow
A paltry sum of time for me
To share his smile — my morning sun
For loss of love and dignity
Was lot in life since I’d begun
I feel that loneliness and I
Are well-acquainted, steadfast friends
Stay well within your starry sky
I do not wish to make amends

(c) Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 1, 2015, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Such a sweet image and poem

    Like

  2. lovely poem with wonderful execution of garland of emotions with magical words, somewhere i felt i relate to this and the pain will going to be there till……….. thank you for the lovely poem request you to pray for my angel her b’day is on 4th of this month may god bless her with good health and peace and success ameen !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

