The Beauty of My Daughter

The Beauty of My Daughter

Deep within the crescent moons
that sparkle in her eyes
I succumb to slowly find
the place I wish to die
As tears flow down from aged eyes
that want to drink her in
I long to stroke the winter wheat
cascading down her skin
I’ve kissed her lips and smelled the scent
from every soft caress
Yet when we part, the memory fades
from she whom I love best
Slipping through my fingers
she eludes me as a dream
Leaving me with imprints
of each smile and memory
Oh, how could I not fall in love
since moment that we met
The urgency of needing that we share
of being blessed
With love that is forever
and a bond that is so rare
The beauty of my daughter
is a gift beyond compare

©Kay Salady

Photograph: My daughter, Shayna

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 15, 2015, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. She’s a natural extension of your loving heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful poem

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

