Disheartened

Disheartened

“Man must evolve for all human conflict a method which rejects revenge, aggression and retaliation. The foundation of such a method is love.” -Martin Luther King, Jr.

In my mind
The world is revolving
And we are evolving
As the people try solving
Our troubles
Bit-by-bit day-by-day
With the choices and chances
We take that enhances
Our living upon and within
Earthly clay
Those brave men before us
Sang out with a chorus
Of legions
Who cried follow on
Yet when I look ’round me
At a nation
Who lives free
Indebted to ones
Who are gone
I question
What are we
And where is the memory
Of all of the trials
That have passed
A mob of indignity
Marches before me
And I pray to my God
It won’t last

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 1, 2015, in poetry, quote and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

