Mocking Marionettes

Mocking Marionettes

It seems so long ago,

when your conversation

fulfilled my every need.

I savored all your thoughts

in quiet contemplation.

They still linger in my

mind like puppets held

on strings, smiling down

at me as reminders of a

time that I can’t seem

to find again with you. I

run to them today and

ask each one to play,

brushing off the cobwebs

they have gathered. I

question every one, as

my heart comes undone,

“Do I still matter?”. And

I am mortified by the

silence that I find. I am

so shattered. How can

I still be inside a fantasy

of my own making? So,

I stand and cut each

rope and I pull down

shreds of hope. Because

I’m taking back my life.

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 5, 2015, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

