This Empty Morning

This Empty Morning

I open my eyes
in search of morning sunlight
that filters through my window
for the presence of your shadow
dancing in the corners of my mind
Then open my arms
to reach far past the distance
into my mind’s remembrance
of holding your warm body
close to mine
And all the while I tremble
inside this hollow shell
crumbling with despondency
far too intense to quell
I pray for sleep
to veil these eyes
that cry from loss of you
to lead me to obscurity
where I no longer view
your shadow in the sunlight
you in my embrace
nor other empty mornings
when fingers touch your face
other than mine

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on September 15, 2015, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. longing….. oh how intense and human that can be! Your words and photos combined create something so entirely sensual – so overwhelmingly affecting my inner self – that most innate, grunting animal male – and affects myself so that I calm at such unrelenting beauty and desire…. mesmerized by something far greater than any single component of it alone… Oh, I need a moment now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love creativity. I love creative minds. I know the emotions and feelings of love that stem from that artistic mind. But you skirt around that Kay, especially with this poem – the image of this entirely seductive and beautiful woman, combined with your words conjuring such human, carnal desire – and that is so guttural – so aaarrRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGG! SEXY to any man…. to hear desire of such loveliness….. It is the thing any man desires most – not just woman – but woman’s need for us. Profound? maybe. I think more sensual than anything else. Or let’s say profoundly sensual…. In any case you put your creativity on a shelf for this one – allowing your very human and sexy self to display it’s innermost desire – It’s certainly lovely and quite erotic. But…. So is your creativity. I think you should know that deep inside…. and put your creativity on the shelf less often….

    Like

  3. So incredibly beautiful…

    Like

Leave a Reply

