The Phantom in My Dreams

Phantom

The phantom in my dreams
Softly beckons me
To walk foreboding halls
Where candles light the walls
I can smell the faint bouquet
Of a hundred yesterdays
And feel the gentle rush
Of wind inside the darkness
Where there beyond the door
She stands upon a floor
Of polished marble
In rich brocade of ebony
As white as snow is she
And oh the waltz she plays
In a mesmerizing way
With bow and tender string
Does cause my heart to sing
And eye to cry
So sweet her rhapsody
Prompting all of me
To linger on within her song
Rose petals fill the air
I deftly reach to touch her hair
As tears begin to flow
She grabs my wrist
And whispers no
I then awake to find
She’d left fingerprints behind
I fail to understand
Why she would reprimand
My loving soul
Perchance again I’ll sleep
And down corridors she’ll creep
I’ll not be remiss
To offer her my kiss
Before I wake

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on October 31, 2015, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is lovely, Kay. It has a sort of Victorian feel to me. I just happen to have seen Dracula starring Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee, and your images evoke a similar ambiance to the one in that film.

    Thank you for your visit and nice comment on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

