A Book of Wisdom

A Book of Wisdom

I saw a book of wisdom
and turned its yellowed pages
then read inspired words
whispered by the sages of old
I sought to follow prophets
and thought to bow to kings
turned by inner thoughts
toward much higher things
than I imagined
I read the aged laws
established for a land
relevant for its time
and tried to understand
how it could be
For mankind had advanced
beyond a thousand years
Not all the words held truth
still some of them I fear
sat well inside my mind
I stood and looked about
the world and its confusion
suffering such loss
over and illusion of grandeur
Angry for the wound
that festered in each soul
wanting to be healed
and somehow to be whole
but there was nothing
There was nothing
I found a well of wisdom
and pondered my reflection
Searching for the answer
an intense feeling of affection
enveloped me

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 15, 2015, in peace poetry, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

