Pages Torn

Pages TornHow I long to reacquaint with pages torn
from yellowed books I’ve tossed aside to still my pride
for holding on is madness
To bite my tongue and scratch at flesh
so scarred with age seems futile
I’d let go my hopes and dreams
when it had seemed that all was lost
the day you sent her picture
What could I do
when she was standing next to you
her hands embracing everything I owned
That lucky girl was now the pearl
of which you spoke
and I the brunt of some sick joke it seemed
And oh the rage deep as the sea inside of me
How can it be that I should even have to see such folly
How dare you say the words true love
What was I even thinking of
to think you were my man
All the things I said were true
the things I taught this man to do
She now shares them all with you
rather than me

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on December 4, 2015, in Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

