Color Me Blue

For so long, withheld inside this heart about to burst
I thought to bear my soul somehow, to satiate my thirst
Then came to you, so willing, unafraid to risk it all
I did not look before I leapt, but chose to take the fall
I failed to test the waters and did not check the height
But closed my eyes to feel the bliss of swimming in delight
Only to find a vagabond whose love I could not find
Searching for his solace in a soul other than mine
Your beauty remains hidden in the shelter of my heart
For unrequited love remains, never to depart
All my world is flooded in the waters of despair
Wrought by separation from a love I thought was rare
So, I drown in my deep sorrow and drink the river’s blood
That rushes o’er my body and wash up in the mud
And still remember, that I love you
Oh, how I love you

©Kay Salady

Color Me Blue

Author, Kay Salady 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 14, 2016, in Kay Salady Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

