Ambivalent

ambivalent
I lie upon your milky chest
And make believe until my death
This is the place I want to be
But in my heart, my fantasy
Is smooth and dark and very far
From being in the place we are
Going through the motions of
Falling in and out of love
And in my mind, I’m very sure
That my love would be secure
Inside the hands I want to hold
If only I could be so bold
To face the truth and let you go
Run to the one who loves me so
Who’s waited for me all these years
Wanting so to dry my tears
To take away what you have done
By making me his only one
I think today, I’ll risk the fall
By giving him my heart, my all
A gift you’ve never once deserved
If only I could get the nerve
To go

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 5, 2016, in Kay Salady Poetry, love poetry, poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

